The last two days I have been out in the Sanctuary all day taking gigapans. There is a lot to cover, and so I had to get out early both mornings. Yesterday was also my last full day on the island, so there was a lot of anxiety about finishing everything that must be done on site. Thus I skipped posting yesterday.

Yesterday I got into the Sanctuary at around 8 am. There were a lot of clouds in the sky, the sun was still relatively low on the horizon, and a LOT of wind. But I needed to use up every hour of daylight that I could muster.

I first took a shot to repeat one that I had taken the day before. Because the gigapan uses a projection (like if you had to map the surface of an orange to a piece of paper), I had cut off a corner of the foundation that I was trying to capture, but I did not know it until I was back in the afternoon and stitched the pictures together. Hence the retake. Fortunately I was able to get all of the visible corners in this shot, although I don’t particularly care for the light. I’ll give you a link to both shots sometime in the next couple of weeks when I am back home and can upload more quickly.

I then took two gigapans of an interesting structure called the Milesian Dedication. I wanted to get another shot from another point of view, but some of the Sanctuary custodians showed up to “clean up” the site. This clean up is necessary so that Matthew and Jake can shoot the foundation and other stones with their Total Station in order to develop a 3D model of the site. The next 2 pictures give you an idea about the decision making.

Figuring out site clean-up

Figuring out site clean-up

Left to right: Susan, Hugh, Matthew, Bonna, walking along the foundation of the Milesian Dedication.

Clean up conference

Clean up conference

Left to right: Bonna, Matthew, Hugh

In the late morning I headed up the hill on the south side of the sanctuary to catch the right light in order to take pictures at (more or less) high noon of two interesting sites, the southern necropolis and the niche where Nike, the Winged Victory of Samothrace once stood (she’s now in the Louvre, if you have every been there). After I succeeded in getting those shots I headed back to the hostel for lunch. Then it was off for a quick trip into the port town of Kamariotissa (forget the pronunciation, just call it K-town like I do) to purchase yet more batteries as well as some souvenirs. Then back into the Sanctuary for some final shots, one of the dining rooms (which did not turn out) and another one of the Milesian Dedication from another side. In addition I provided technical support to Susan who was taking video of Abi and Hugh, dressed in their bed sheet togas. We filmed them walking down the sacred way, from the Propylon, out of the Hieron, in the Hieron and pouring libations, and a couple of others. They were really good sports about it, and this morning we also filmed them reclining on benches to eat grapes and drink wine. When we get back to the States we will turn these videos over to Kyle, an incoming computer science student, who will use them to create animated figures in our reconstructed model.

I thought you might be interested in what the gigapanners look like. Here is Michael taking a gigapan in the heart of the Sanctuary:

Michael shooting a gigapan across the heart of the Sanctuary, toward Hieron

Michael shooting a gigapan across the heart of the Sanctuary, toward Hieron

Here I am, ready to trek up the eastern hill to get a gigapan of the Southern Necropolis, equipment bag slung over my shoulder, tripod with gigapan under my arm, and my water bottle in hand:

off to gigapan the Southern Necropolis

off to gigapan the Southern Necropolis

I wanted to leave you with one last picture. Yesterday, when I was done with my last picture, I added the dead batteries to the growing pile on my table. Although I had a set of rechargeable batteries, they took forever (like overnight) to recharge in the so=called Quick Charge unit, and they were only good for one large shot. So I was constantly running out to buy alkaline batteries. Here is my pile of dead soldiers:

Batteries! (and other necessary paraphernalia)

Batteries! (and other necessary paraphernalia)

Although I realize that it is a finite, and thus countable, number of batteries, I am too embarrassed to count them. Fortunately there are battery recycling places all over the island, so someone can take them in to K-town and send them away.

You might want to note in the picture some other important tools: my white ball cap, my water bottle (I have used the same 1.5 liter bottle all 2 weeks), my pencil and field notebook, and the pink thing. That is a piece of the self-wicking material which I wear as a head band when it is really hot – it keeps my face cool and dry. Oh, and let’s not forget the battery charger (one that Michael brought with him) plugged into my extension cord, into which is also plugged the power supply for my MacBook.

Well, I am going to post this, finish writing up my field notes, and pack, so that I can board the 1 pm ferry back to Alexandroupolis. More later…

